SSANU condemns proliferation of Varsities in Ekiti

….. hails Oyebanji over reinstatement of members


The National Vice President, Western Zone of Senior Staff Association of Nigerian Universities (SSANU), Comr. Abdussobur Olayiwola Salaam has condemned the proliferation of Universities in Ekiti.

Speaking on thursday during the 69th Western Zonal Executive Council (ZEC) Meeting, Ekiti State University Branch, he noted that the  Universities, EKSU, and Bamidele Olumilua University of Education, Science and Technology, Ikere-Ekiti, (BOUESTI), can’t be adequately funded by the state government.

He therefore called on the Oyebanji-led administration to amalgamate the trio Universities in the state so that they would be able to serve in terms of Career capacity, without necessarily increasing the cost of governance.

In his words, “When a state can not properly fund a University and they set up two or three, we can only do that when we don’t have problem.

“But when we have problem, having 3 Universities, we will need three governing councils, 3 VCs and all them needs to be funded.

“So for us, we advise the Government to amalgamate the Universities into one so that at the end of the day, they would be able to serve in terms of Career capacity, without necessarily increasing the cost of governance.”

On his part, SSANU Chairman, EKSU Branch – Comr. Temidayo Azeez Aguda commended the governor of the State, Biodun Oyebanji for reinstating the members of the Union who have been ceased from working.

“As a matter of fact, it’s very unusual to see a union commending the Government.

“It’s too empirical, you can see. I want to tell you, before his emergence as Governor, there was a meeting organised by the embodiment of alumni, where they asked me, what do you want?

“I don’t have more than one prayer and I still maintain, it’s the reinstatement of our members.

“I want to sincerely appreciate the Government and the Governor, they have done so well.”

However, awards of recognition were given to four personalities namely, Engr Dipo Bamisaye, Asiwaju Oludotun Adetuberu, Professor Dipo Kolawole and Dr Omojola Awosusi.

Also in attendance were Vice Chancellor, Prof Edward Olanipekun represented by the DVC, Academics, Prof Ayodele Babatola Joseph, The Registrar, Ife Oluwole, Taiwo Egbejobi, SSANU National ex-officio, SSANU Women Coordinator, Comrade Bolanle Adebesin, among others.

One thought on “SSANU condemns proliferation of Varsities in Ekiti

  1. This SSANU leader seems to have a very shallow understanding of what University education is all about.
    He is looking at the funding as a possible obstacle to the smooth running of the institutions. To me, that is a problem which i believe would be overcome within a very short term.
    Funding higher institutions would make government put on its thinking cap. It would help the government to look both inward and outward for more sources of revenue.
    Qualitative tertiary education is no longer free anywhere in the world.
    Parents and guardians have to widen the scope of their sources income just as they have to prioritize their spendings.
    If a parent can afford to pay N250,000 as school fees per term in private primary and post- Primary schools, nothing should stop them from paying
    same amount per session on same child to acquire university education.
    It is high time we fix our tertiary institutions to have better brains to export.
    Western world needs more brains from Nigeria; the brains are from our universities.
    Brain drain is not a curse but a great blessing in disguise. When we turn out more qualified graduates from our universities, the chance is very high that they would secure better jobs with multinationals. Western world is suffering from declining population. They have more jobs but fewer younger people to employe. Whereas the reverse is the case in Nigeria where 50 percent of the population is between ages 10 and 35.
    This stratum of the population ladder must acquire qualitative University education to be more useful and productive both here and in diaspora.
    When gainfully employed overseas, they would surely repatriate part of whatever they earn outside to Nigeria.
    India and China are classical examples in this situation. In the 80s Nigeria didn’t recognize degree from Indian universities, but today those graduates are doing exploits around the world in Medicine, Pharmacy, IT, aeronautics etc.
    We need more universities in Ekiti State to harness the potential among our youths.

Leave a Reply