Igede Progressive Association confers honourary award on Ekiti legal luminary, Barr Iyanu Olumuagun

The Igede Progressive Association (IPA) on Friday conferred an honourary award on a prominent Ekiti Legal Luminary, Barrister Iyanu Olumuagun.

Barrister Iyanu, was among 20 illustrious sons and daughters of Igede-Ekiti, who were awarded during the ‘Civic Reception for past and present Political Office Holders in Igede-Ekiti’, for their contribution towards the development and growth of the town.

She was also part of the Progressive indigenes of Igede who were inducted into the Igede-Ekiti Hall of Fame.

Speaking with Journalists, Iyanu thanked the Onigede of Igede-Ekiti, Oba James Adelusi, Aladesuru II, for grooming her since childhood while reiterating her commitment to the growth and development of the community.

Her words: “The Kabiyesi was always with my mother every time when she was alive despite the fact that she was not born in Igede-Ekiti but in Iyin Ekiti. Before and after the death of my mother, the Kabiyesi has been with me.

“He didn’t neglect me because I am a Lady, he took me as his own. He sponsored me to become a Lawyer, to where I am here. I have contributed to the progress of Igede-Ekiti and I will continue to do so.”

The Onigede of Igede-Ekiti, Oba James Adelusi, Aladesuru II enjoined residents of the area who are holding any political position to unite and not be bias for the advancement of the community.

While charging the award recipients to support themselves for the betterment of Igede-Ekiti irrespective of their political affiliations, Oba Adelusi pledged to give out lands to residents for the development of the community.

In his remarks, President General of IPA, Austine Ibikunle hailed Governor Biodun Oyebanji for bringing development to Igede-Ekiti and appointing their sons and daughters into political office positions.

He equally noted that the award was bestowed upon deserving sons and daughters of the town aimed at encouraging them to do more for the growth and development of Igede-Ekiti.

His words: “If you want to get something from someone is to show an appreciation to such person. This programme is for those people that held political posts and equally motivate people that recently took over the position of leadership in the state and local government so that it would be like a golden handcuff for them and ensure they will be gladly be committed to the development of the town.”

In his lecture titled, Impactful Governance: Igede-Ekiti in Perspective”, Barrister Bayo Ayo
urged the residents of the community to be committed to the growth of Igede-Ekiti.

He suggested that they should approach the issue of development in a business-like manner by rebranding the town to be known for commercial activities.

His words: “I wish to see the town blossom beyond this. It will always start from all of us. We cannot have it any better. We have to start small and grow. It will require commitment from the part of individuals.

“We must be willing and ready to commit. I want to encourage our brothers and sisters who are in government. You must be deliberate that this town move higher and at all time, let’s put Igede-Ekiti forward.”

Other award recipients include; Hon. Gbenga Oluwatuyi, Hon. Femi Akindele, Hon. Chief Mrs Yemisi Olaguniyu, Hon. Azeez Awolokun, and Hon. Olawole Adedipe, Dr. Dotun Adetunberu, Hon. Ope Agbede, Hon. Ayo Akande, Hon. Sikuru Adewumi and Hon. Seun Osalusi.

The past leaders honoured include; Hon. Chief Babatola Ogundana, Hon. Idowu Ige, Hon. Steve Ogunrinde, Hon. Akin Ogunyemi and Hon. Sola Ojo, Hon. Barr Iyanu Olumuagun, Hon. Busuyi Oladele, Hon. Sade Adaralegbe, Hon. Ademilola Ogundipe and Hon. Kayode Oguntoyinbo.

Leave a Reply