APC’s Aliyu Ahmed wins 2023 governorship election in Sokoto

..as Sanwoolu,Abiodun, Makinde, AbdulRasaq, Buni, Yahaya return

…. Youngest Lawmaker emerges

The All Progressives Congress (APC) governorship candidate Aliyu Ahmed Sokoto has won the 2023 governorship election in Sokoto State.

According to the Independent National Electoral Commission,INEC Ahmed won with 453,661 votes.

He defeated his closest rival Umar Saidu of People’s Democratic Party who polled 404,632 votes.


Meanwhile the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared some governors reelected as winners of Saturday’s governorship election held across the country.

The governors are Babajide Sanwoolu of Lagos ,Dapo Abiodun of Ogun state,Seyi Makinde of Oyo,AbdulRahman Abdul Razaq of Kwara, Inuwa Yahya of Gombe,Mai Mala Buni of Yobe

In Ogun,Abiodun of the All Progressives Congress (APC) won the election after polling 276,298 votes to defeat the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) governorship candidate in the state, Oladipupo Adebutu, who polled 262,383 votes and 12 other candidates.

Makinde in Oyo was declared the winner of the exercise. The PDP candidate polled 563,756 votes to beat his close rival Teslim Folarin of the APC who scored 256,685 votes, while Adebayo Adelabu of the Accord Party (AP) scored 38,357 votes.

Adelabu, who came third in the election congratulated Governor Makinde. He said the victory was a call to do more and serve the people diligently. He said: “Election has come and gone and we should all go back to our normal daily lives like I always say. It is my strong belief that election should not be a do-or die affair, as God changes times and seasons, He enthrones and dethrones kings according to his wish. God’s time is the best.”

Also APC AbdulRasaq of Kwara won re-election as he polled 273,424 votes to defeat his closest rival, Shuaib Abdullahi of the PDP, who polled 155,490 votes.

APC Buni of Yobe returned as he polled 317,113 votes to defeat his closest rival, Sheriff Abdullahi of the PDP who scored 104,259. While in Gombe State, Governor Muhammadu Inuwa Yahaya of the APC was declared the winner of the election. He scored 342,821 to defeat PDP’s Jibrin Barde who scored 233,131, while the New Nigeria People’s Party (NNPP) candidate Khamisu Mailantarki scored 19,861.

Sanwo-Olu of the All Progressives Congress, APC was reelected as he polled a total of 762134,

votes to defeat his closest, Labour Party, LP Gbadebo Rhodes-Vivour and Dr. Olajide Adediran of the People’s Democratic Party, PDP.

LP. polled 312329 votes while PDP. 62449 votes

The state Returning Officer, Mrs Adenike returned Sanwo-Olu as elected.


The youngest Lawmaker,Shittu

A 26-year-old online Female journalist, Rukayat Shittu, also broke record by emerging as the youngest Lawmaker in Nigeria.

She won the Assembly seat of Owode/Onire State Constituency election in Asa local government area of Kwara State in the just-concluded State House of Assembly elections held on Saturday.

Shittu, a social media influencer, contested the election under the platform of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC

She scored 7,521 votes to defeat the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Abdullah Magaji, who polled 6,957 votes.

She expressed her gratitude to APC leadership in the State and the electorate for giving her what she described as “a rare opportunity”.

Leave a Reply